New Home

I am lying here. In a new bed that’s a little too soft and a little too big. In a new room filled with blank walls and full boxes. In a new house with half finished stairs and unexplored corridors and in a new town filled with cute unsuspecting neighbours and uncharted libraries.

I have lived in 4 different countries in the past year and a half, not including the short times I get to visit my once steady home three times a year. It has taught me many things, most I won’t get into right now, but one of the most important things being away has taught me is that a city can never be ‘too’ explored. As I lay here now, I have a strong urge to wander. Wander every nook and every cranny of this new found hamlet. To find every quaint cafe, forbidden roof and potential friend. I want to do the impossible, explore a town until there is nothing more to learn.

Since I have one or two friends tops in this town, all of my free time, which comes sparingly, has gone to my family. I payed more attention to what they were saying, I appreciated all they have done for me a little more thoroughly and learned about some qualities that explain so much. Who knew passive aggressiveness was inherited? 😉

I don’t know how many chapters in my life this little town will see or how many secrets of mine this little house may hold, but this small city has become my home and I hope we get along.

IMG_7459

One thought on “New Home”

  1. Kiana- I love this 🙂 I totally get what you mean about spending the break time with family and wanting to sort of ‘rediscover’ a town you’ve spent a lot of time in. When we are away from home we sort of generate different ideas of what it is like to be back there and wandering sort of puts those ideas to the test.

    Also, I never doubted for a minute that you got your passive agressive-ness from your family. It takes something as complicated as DNA to generate such a strong quality. Lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

